Return to Headlines

2018 Lamp of Learning Award Honorees

Once each year the Washington Elementary School District (WESD) celebrates the unique, exemplary contributions of special members of the #WESDFamily by honoring them with the Lamp of Learning Award. Bestowing this award allows us the opportunity to thank community and staff members for the extras that they do to support the education of our students. This year we honored 32 extraordinary people who represent the Vision, Mission and Values of the WESD.  The Lamp of Learning Award is the highest recognition given in the District. Honorees were celebrated at the Lamp of Learning Awards Dinner on May 4, 2018. We thank all of these wonderful people for their individual contributions to our District.


Mary Ann Arteaga, Volunteer, Chaparral Elementary


Debra  Atkinson, Academic Interventionist, Lakeview Elementary


Charles Baker, Fourth Grade Teacher, Shaw Butte Elementary


Lauri Bannick Junge, Psychologist, Sweetwater School


Sue Barrowclough, Nurse, Sweetwater School


Tim Cullison, Volunteer, Moon Mountain Elementary


Robert  DeMarco, PE Teacher, Palo Verde Middle School


Jeanette Dibble, Title I Paraprofessional, Manzanita Elementary


Amber Fusco, Kindergarten Teacher, Shaw Butte Elementary


Phil Garitson, Principal, Cholla Middle School


Daniel Hale, Social Studies Teacher, Palo Verde Middle School


Kellie Haney, Academic Intervention Specialist, Ocotillo Elementary


Alonnie Hanley, Title I Aide, Desert Foothills Junior High


Kyra  Harris, Speech Pathologist, Moon Mountain Elementary


Tricia Johnson, Principal, Lookout Mountain Elementary


Sharon Kahldon, Fourth Grade Teacher, Lookout Mountain Elementary


Sherri Larner, Math Teacher, Cholla Middle School


Beth Leonard, Program Coach, Roadrunner Elementary


Laurie Lisandrelli, Office Technician, Acacia Elementary


Carlos Martinez, Social Studies Teacher, Royal Palm Middle School


Barbara Mason, Behavior Intervention Specialist, Palo Verde Middle School


Kathleen McKeever, Director of Academic Support Programs, Academic Support Programs


Vayna Nelson, Office Manager, Lakeview Elementary


Julissa Puzzo, Volunteer, Richard E. Miller Elementary


Alice Reule, Volunteer, Desert View Elementary


Jeff Shaw, Social Studies Teacher, Mountain Sky Junior High


Jeff Shedroff, Special Education Reading Teacher, Cholla Middle School


Lynn Smith, Music Teacher, Mountain View School


Carroll Worsnup, Second Grade Teacher, Sunset Elementary


Libby Yoder, Reading Intervention Specialist, Sunburst Elementary


Gary and Jane Kriege, Volunteers, Sunset Elementary


Lynn Thome, First Grade Teacher, Washington Elementary, Lifetime of Learning Award