Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2017 Lamp of Learning Honorees

Once each year the Washington Elementary School District (WESD) celebrates the unique, exemplary contributions of special members of the #WESDFamily by honoring them with the Lamp of Learning Award. Bestowing this award allows us the opportunity to thank community and staff members for the extras that they do to support the education of our students. This year we honor 38 extraordinary people who represent the Vision, Mission and Values of the WESD.  The Lamp of Learning Award is the highest recognition given in the District. Honorees will be celebrated on May 5 at the Lamp of Learning Awards Dinner. We thank all of these wonderful people for their individual contributions to our District.

2017 WESD Lamp of Learning Honorees


Kirstin Alexander, First Grade ELL Teacher, Richard E. Miller Elementary

Audrey Barrrett, Assistant Principal, Lookout Mountain Elementary

Stacie Bauer, Sixth Grade Teacher, Acacia Elementary

Jolynn Bentsen, Health Technician, Roadrunner Elementary

Kevin Brown, School Psychologist, Palo Verde Middle School

Jack & Karen Buckles, Volunteers,  Shaw Butte Elementary

Emily Church, Student Services Specialist, Richard E. Miller Elementary

Kristine Copeland, Paraprofessional, Sunburst Elementary

Rochelle Corry, Budget Manager, Finance Deptartment

Melissa Currie, Third Grade Teacher, Sunset Elementary

Kelly DeYoung, Pastor of Christ's Community Church, Community Member, Palo Verde Middle School

Enriqueta DiSanto, Coordinator, Washington Resource Information Center

Philip Drewis, Science Teacher, Desert Foothills Jr. High

Monica Dunham, Mathematics Teacher, Cholla Middle School

Ana Facio, Volunteer, Moon Mountain Elementary

Tracy Farrell, Reading Interventionist, Shaw Butte Elementary

Mark Fortin, Facility Manager, Mountain Sky Jr. High

George Green, Volunteer, Washington Elementary

Fred Guerriero, Volunteer, Mountain View Elementary

Pamela Hall, Program Coach, Shaw Butte Elementary

Michele Hardesty, Fourth Grade Teacher, Lakeview Elementary

Nancy Heydorn, Library Technician, John Jacobs Elementary

Jeanmarie Jacoby, Special Education Teacher, Sweetwater School

Pearl Keams, McKinney-Vento Driver, Transportation

Deirdre Mai, Administrator of Academic Support Programs, Academic Support Programs

Michelle McGlynn, Volunteer, Sweetwater School

Jerilyn “Stormy” Meyer, Office Technician, Sunset Elementary

Monica Miller, Office Technician, Lakeview Elementary

Michelle Miller, Music Teacher, Mountain View School

Richard Morris, Principal, Chaparral Elementary

Emily Moscioni, Fifth Grade Teacher, Cactus Wren Elementary

Margaret Mott, Seventh Grade Science Teacher, Mountain View School

Jonathan Perrone, Science Teacher, Mountain Sky Jr. High

Ann Sikkema, Lead Assistant for CCB, Manzanita Elementary

Jonathan Sloan, Third Grade Teacher, Shaw Butte Elementary

Jennifer Spector, Second Grade Teacher, Washington Elementary

Stephanie Watson, Health Technician, John Jacobs Elementary

Kristin Woodburne, Second Grade Teacher, Moon Mountain Elementary