Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2024 Lamp of Learning Honorees!

The WESD is proud and excited to announce our 2024 Lamp of Learning Honorees! Once each year, our District recognizes the unique and exemplary contributions of special members of the WESD Family by honoring them with the Lamp of Learning Award. This award serves as a special opportunity to thank staff and community members for supporting the education of our students. It is also the highest recognition given in the District. This year, we celebrate 17 extraordinary people and a business partner who represent the Vision, Mission and Values of the WESD.

Congratulations to:
Jessica Burillo, Lakeview Elementary School;
Haidi Chacon, WRIC/Social Services;
Kelly D'Andrea, Sunnyslope School/Nutrition Services;
Johnna Faust, Desert View Elementary School;
Amy Fernandez, Administrative Center – Superintendent’s Office;
Danielle Huerta, Ironwood Elementary School;
Ritchie Iafrate, Chaparral Elementary School;
Cheri Johnson, Sweetwater School;
Harry Leon, Safety and Mentoring;
Caitlyn Leslie, Orangewood School;
Peoria Subaru, Sunburst Elementary School;
Cathy Phelps, Sweetwater School;
Rula Prock, Tumbleweed Elementary School;
Leon Shinsky, Maryland School;
Shannon Tucker, Administrative Center – Superintendent’s Office;
Stephen Whynott, John Jacobs Elementary School;
Mark Williams, Cholla Middle School; and
Krystin Yee, Royal Palm Middle School.

We are so grateful for each of these incredible individuals and our partner and look forward to celebrating them later this spring!